Home Computer Audio Asylum

Music servers and other computer based digital audio technologies.

RE: Effect of ferrite beads on dc power lines too P24, P4 and/or too Pico PSU’s

Hi Greg,

Thank you for your informatieve response.

I have no experience with placing ferrite beads on power lines and interconnects in analogue audio systems. Only after reading ‘Digital Hardware Design’ by Ivor Catt, David Walton, Malcolm Davidson, (thanks to a tip from inmate Ryelands) I got interested in the effect of (ground) noise in my cMP setup and lowering/filtering it.
see http://www.ivorcatt.org/digital-hardware-design.htm

But most important of all I learned that effects on sound quality and avoiding & reducing noise in analogue audio have hardly any resemblance with those in digital (audio) systems.

Just a wild guess, but my feeling tells me that Inmate Maxamillioy’s ground tweaks (and others) are toying around with the more subtle symptoms of ‘the pin1 problem’, where the circuit boards common trace in someway is connected too the chassis, (cables-)shields, power safety ground, ect. and thus therefore (unwanted) currents are allowed to flow in the signal reference ground. In analogue systems this can lead too a broad variety of all kinds of symptoms (not only too the well know classic hum).

In my view this in the only resemblance analogue audio systems and digital systems both have in common: they both need a clean and stable 0 volt. The cleaner and the more stable O volt: the better.
With this in mind I agree proper grounding is very, very important. But I also find most the most complicated. Especially in digital systems.

From reading the article ‘Example of Noise Suppression in DVD Players’
http://www.murata.com/products/emc/case/household/pdf/d_4.pdf
I now realize what a noisy mess it must be on a PC MoBo.