Home Computer Audio Asylum

Music servers and other computer based digital audio technologies.

Thank you for feedback. Are you sure you don't want too experiment with caps + ferrits? (last try)

Hi Theo,

I have no experience myself with I2S, but I can understand the attractiveness of the concept to separate the clock signal from the audio-bit stream. But that is from a conceptual point of view. From a practical, real world point of view I doubt if I’m able too execute it properly myself. Especially knowing how VERY DIFFICULT (!!) it even is for professionals too accurately send, transport, receive and process clock signals. I don’t think I can technically execute that properly myself in such a way that it will outperform a proper executed S/Pdif connection. But these are just my thoughts on this matter. I have no real world practical experience with it.
Also, even on the best studio DAC’s money can buy (Prism, Lavry, Weiss, etc) I don’t see an I2S input. If this where a better way of doing things, it would certainly be fitted by these and other companies.

So I concentrate on more simple things which I can execute properly myself given the limited set of tools I have (lack of knowledge, skills and proper equipment).

In frequency/impedance graphs provided by the ferrite manufacturers I see that ferrites have a bell shaped resistance curve that peaks somewhere between 100 – 300 mHz. The official S/Pif specs say that the frequency can be between 100kHz and 6Mhz. A CD player uses 3mHz.

But still I don’t put ferrites on un-shielded S/Pdif cables. Given the theory what an electrical digital signal is (square block pulses) I fear malformation of the block shapes (misshaped eye patterns)
Of course ferrites can reduce HF noise traveling on the shield of an S/Pdif cable, but that HF noise shouldn’t be there at the shield in first place. It would be my strategy too battle that (possible) noise at some other place.

Ferrites on a glass toslink ???? :-)