Home Computer Audio Asylum

Music servers and other computer based digital audio technologies.

RE: Certainly would make the job simpler

Hi Rick,

Thank you for your responce.

Indeed it would make the job more easy.

But the linear PSU model NMC 101 S from FG-ELECTRONIK also has my special interest because FG-ELECTRONIK not only stresses the absence of HF-pollution but they also stress the importance of (dynamic) load regulation.

I have no education or background in electronics, so I don’t know if it is really important, but I’m under the impression that a very good load regulation is also critical for sound quality coming from digital resource. I don’t see any in dept articles on the importance of (dynamic) load regulation for digital resources, but I do see more and more hints that point in this direction.

* Some producers of PSU’s for audiophile digital resources stress the importance of there PSU’s designs having a very low internal resistance.

* On this forum I think it was Bertel (if remember correctly) who stressed the importance of low resistance in order to maintain a stable voltage and steady current flow too the mobo.

* And also in this (sales talk!) article on upgrading the squeezebox PSU the importance of dynamic load regulation is mentioned.
http://www.squeeze-upgrade.com/philosophy-behind-sbooster-concept-pm-30.html#A%20linear%20regulated%20power%20supply%20improves%20the%20sound%20quality%20only%20for%20X%
(Although I seriously doubt if the series resistance of the DC power line is a real problem in that matter).

I agree, it looks like if a de-tuned cMP PC is not a difficult load for a PSU. But on the other hand: some inmates on this forum do suggest that all the sound quality differences that can be heard on a cMP-setup through under-volting, under-clocking, using less RAM, an SSD, ect etc are because off less stress and demand on the PSU.