Home SET Asylum

Single Ended Triodes (SETs), the ultimate tube lovers dream.

RE: Transmitter Tube SET. What Are Your Overall Experiences?

Hello Mr. Pig! I've been the owner of a 135 LBs, 40W/ch, Mastersound Reference 845, SET amp/integrated amp --{depends on which option I select on a front dial, but I use it as an amp}-- so trust me when I say there's an SET amp out there for you! I've been using my Mastersound SET amp for 20+ years. I used to run an online group on Yahoo called SETriodes for 18+ years -{that's before they drastically changed it and turned it into an email-based forum}- now SETriodes is on Facebook, but I digress. I started the SETriodes online group because this was my first, and only, SET amp and I wanted to talk with as many SET owners as I possibly could. Truth be told over those 18+ years I've talked with literally 100's of people who were looking to obtain their first SET amp, but they didn't want to spend thousands of dollars and they needed it to have some power. One of the 845 amps I remember that seemed to get really good feedback from owners was the Shuguang SG-845 Amp! It has 21W/ch and uses 6SN7 as preamp tubes, 300B as driver tubes, and 845 as output tubes. You can -{and you should}- look around to get the best price, but I included a link below because it describes the amp pretty well and has a few good pictures of it -{I like the black one best!}- and it has the lowest price I could find when shipping is added.