Home Propeller Head Plaza

Technical and scientific discussion of amps, cables and other topics.

Can of worms

Do you really want to open that can of worms?
But since you have done it I’m going to answer this as good as I can.

To do this I need to explain my “Design philosophy” and some history. I am an electric engineer and have been fiddling around with electronics and loudspeakers since I was 11 years old I built my first own loudspeakers and amplifiers at the age of 16, so I’ve been learning this for over 25 years and are still in the process of learning.

I also used to think that negative feedback was the best thing since sliced bread, but for me the big eye-opener was when I listened to the Monster sometime around 1988. The Monster is a low feedback (around 20 dB) and low power (8 Watt) class-A amplifier design by Jean Hiraga with a very simple design (Only 8 transistors). I know that Hiraga have made some odd statements (It might be translation errors) but he can design well sounding amplifiers.