Home Critic's Corner

Discuss a review. Provide constructive feedback. Talk to the industry.

Let me expand ....

I generally enjoy Art's writings with the caveat that if he isn't writing about a restoration project he is moaning that audio isn't as good as it used to be. But, he is intelligent and he likes XTC so I read him. Sometimes he does write some irksome things - this column was one of those occasions though that isn't what I posted about.

As I first thumbed through my June 2014 issue one thing stood out - the measurement graphs of the Lector DAC. I am an engineer so I'm interested in measurement results (kudos to JA) though I doubt they relate to perceived sound quality (if anything there is an inverse relationship, poor measurement = better subjective reception). Anyway, a quick look shows that there is something very wrong, I mean seriously very wrong, with the operation of that DAC. The time-domain low-level signal is horrendous and JA even reinstated the input-output linearity sweep that hasn't been seen in a CD/DAC review for years because modern players ace the test, except in this case.

So, where does the irony come in? After I read Art's column I didn't particularly agree with him about 'artisinal' designers (I am an engineer after all) but wouldn't hold that against him. However, if you consider the Lector an 'artisinal' product then it is a total irony as the thing does not work properly as a DAC. Either that sample is damaged - not an encouraging thing that an artisan would supply it - or the design is plainly bad, again not a good quality in an artisan.