Home Computer Audio Asylum

Music servers and other computer based digital audio technologies.

USB Myths and misconceptions

I've been hearing a lot of stuff around here and other forums about USB audio interfaces and reactions to those statements. A lot of it is untrue or at least half truths, I thought I'd clean some of this up and hope to give a little dose of reality to the discussions here.

To start off I have quite a bit of experience with this, I have been building my own DACs for the last several years including S/PDIF interface, USB to S/PDIF and USB to I2S direct to DAC chips. I have built many combinations and both listened and done measurements.

First a quick overview of USB modes, synchronous, adaptive and asynchronous. All of these are "isochronous" whih just means the bus has reserved bandwidth for the data. Synchronous is the really cheap, very high jitter interface, its not seen all that often today, when you see reaaly bad numbers for a USB interface its probably running synchronous. Adaptive, much better, it still has a PLL but its referenced to a local crystal oscilator, the jitter can be quite low if done right. Asynchronous, the receiver is in complete control, output clock comes directly from low jitter clock, no PLL involved. Very low jitter if done right. If done not so right can be about the same as adaptive.

Almost all my experimantation has been with adaptive mode. There are only a couple chips that can implement asynchronous mode and they take reprogramming to run in that mode, that programming is turning out to be very difficult, some day I hope to get it worked out.

The up shot of the tests shows that if you use asaptive mode direct to I2S and feed that into the DAC chips you can get in the 65 to 70ps range, very good but not perfect by any means. Note I did NOT say its jitterless, just quite low jitter. Yes there ARE 1KHz sidebands but they are very low if the interface is done correctly.