Home Amp/Preamp Asylum

Looking for a new Amp or Preamp? If you're after tubes, post over here.

You Could Be In For Pleasant Surprises

I got to hear CDs during the summer of 1986. My dad's coworker had a Panasonic portable. I'm pretty sure the first disc I heard was something from Andreas Vollenweider. That piqued my interest. I began to see record clubs offering CDs. In the Fall of '86, Sony had this promotion, where, if you purchased a Sony CD player, you could send in the UPC code, and get 5 free CDs from, I believe, Columbia Music House. And if I'm not mistaken, one ad featured Genesis monkeying around behind a studio console.

I don't know about other markets, but here in San Francisco, by the end of 1986, record stores stopped stocking vinyl, and loaded up on cassettes and CDs, which then came in long boxes. I got my first CD player in April '87, when I was a high school sophomore. From the get-go, it was more convenient, and hands-down superior to my record and cassette players.

In 1987, my high school classmates first had to get a Walkman. Then they started getting CD players. The CD medium truly added to the pop music explosion of the late-80s.

Obviously, I was well aware of the Stereotypical Audiophiles and their stinky attitude and bigotry toward CD. Sadly, those negative biases steadfastly remain.

Anyway, in those 80s, popular music from the 60s was called "Oldies." Even back then, I did not like that moniker. Fast forward to 92-93, my senior year at UC Santa Cruz. My Adcom GTP-400 was able to pull in an "Oldies" station from Central California, perhaps Soledad. My housemates and I loved the variety of 60s and early-70s that station played. As much as we loved sitting in that college apartment, and listening to music, the Turtles' "Happy Together" made us feel as though we were with dates at the Boardwalk, and perhaps during a time before the earthquake had wiped out Santa Cruz.