Home Computer Audio Asylum

Music servers and other computer based digital audio technologies.

MM Fiber cable

Hiya,

I've been running fiber for about 5 years, maybe four.

It has made a difference, - but also some of the new RJ45 Ethernet switches such as the Etheregen may make a difference.

The answer is almost always, - (IMO), - depends on what the rest of your system is.

Is your digital file player a combo file server/player? Are you playing your digital files from a Laptop/MacBook/desktop computer on your audio rack?
I started running two FMC, (Fiber Media Converters) and a 45 ft length of fiber cable. This DOES isolate your Ethernet devices electronically. But each FMC needs a power supply, - so if you have a "noisy" FMC power supply as the receiver, - then that might be an issue: noise from these PSUs).

So there are a number of questions that are specific to you and your system.

On these forums, here at AA the reception to these discussions is not really met with a lot of support, - so it's best to head over to Computer Audiophile/Audiophile Style. There's a great thread there that is very long, that discusses everything Fiber: by jabbr, - who has pretty much experimented with just about everything Fiber.

Largely how it works is: in your "other" room: you use a short RJ45 Ethernet cable plugged into a switch or server, that Ethernet cable plugs into the FMC, then a fiber cable out of that "sender" and then in your audio room/rack, a FMC "receiver" where the other end of the fiber cable is installed, - then that FMC converts the cabling back to RJ45 Ethernet that plugs into your streaming device.

This "system" is just a way of replacing an Ethernet cable, - and it's far less effective if all your devices are on the audio rack. Also, - this is cheap, - my whole set up was around $100 including two Jameco linear power supplies to run the FMCs at $11 each.

For many people, spending $100 or so for the experiment is fun. For others... not so much.