Home Critic's Corner

Discuss a review. Provide constructive feedback. Talk to the industry.

RE: Sample to Sample

Bill,

Let me first say that I'm an expert only on my own reviews and don't speak for Stereophile, and certainly not for the industry.

The best short answer is "no", apart from channel matching, which is revealed during testing, and is a good (but hardly perfect) indication of consistency. (That, by the way, is a very important reason why Stereophile's measurements matter.) There's also speaker matching, which isn't really fair because high-end speakers usually matched up either during manufacture or later). What I do is pay attention to workmanship and other indications of quality control, which would tend to indicate better uniformity. But ultimately I'm always working with just one (or, in the case of speakers, two) unit(s) (unless one fails and has to be replaced). It's just not practical to test multiple units, if only because manufacturers usually can't provide them.

An aside: This is one argument in favor of expensive parts: Apart from any cryo'd qualities (or whatever) they might possess, they're more likely to be in spec than the cheap stuff (but some manufacturers will by cheap, test it in-house, then match it up, which saves money). Parts with a tighter spec lead to electronics with more consistent performance.

I believe, however--and this was my point really--that there is a difference in claims and reader expectations. Even when it comes to measurements, Stereophile (eg) makes it clear that they're presenting information about that particular unit. One hopes for general relevance, but ultimately that depends on the skill and standards of the manufacturer (not just the designer). CR presents their measurements as objective and rigorous--a standard that, in this respect, they do not meet.