Home Digital Drive

Upsamplers, DACs, jitter, shakes and analogue withdrawals, this is it.

Patricia Barber's "Modern Cool" on Dual Layer Blu-Ray

Patricia Barber Modern Cool on Dual Layer Blu-Ray

Featuring High Resolution Mixes of the Original 2 Track Masters & In 5.1 Surround!

Re-mixed in Surround at Skywalker Sound Studios by Original Engineer Jim Anderson & Mastered by Grammy Winner Darcy Proper!

First Release of 2 Channel Masters in High Resolution! [But see my follow-up post, below.]

Patricia Barber's Modern Cool hit like a thunderbolt when first released back in 1998. Featuring the same band as on Cafe Blue with the addition of trumpet star Dave Douglas, the 12-song set is highlighted by Barber originals like "Touch of Trash," "Company," and "Winter," to go along with her version of The Doors "Light My Fire" and her setting of an E.E. Cummings poem.

Among the many accolades received, DownBeat Magazine gave the album a coveted "5 Stars" review calling it "sonically, one of the best recordings ever made by a jazz singer with a small acoustic ensemble." The response, and subsequent worldwide touring, led to Barber’s signing to Blue Note Records one year later and the New York Times proclaiming: “Barber’s art is the kind of art we need to pay attention to.”

Now, Premonition presents a high resolution, dual layer Blu Ray of this miraculous album. Included are a 5.1 Surround remix (24/96 kHz) by original engineer Jim Anderson and the original 2 track stereo masters in 24/192 kHZ for the first time on disc. The surround remix is stunning, revealing detail never before heard while the high resolution 2 track masters shed new light on the originals!

This Blu-ray edition of Modern Cool utilizes the Pure Audio system, a new technology that allows the user to operate the disc using the onscreen menu navigation or by remote control without a TV screen. Music only release playable on all Blu-ray players.

"Wow! This is certainly a candidate for Best Surround Sound Album of 2012. A Marvelous product." - Morten Lindberg/Surround Producer 2L Records

- Patricia Barber (vocals, piano)
- Michael Arnopol (bass)
- John McLean (guitars)
- Mark Walker ( drums, percussion)
- Jeff Stitely (udu)
- Dave Douglas (trumpet)
- Choral Thunder Vocal Choir

- Re-mixed in surround at the legendary Skywalker Sound Studios by original recording engineer Jim Anderson
- Surround mastered by Darcy Proper (Grammy winner for surround mastering)
- Blu-ray authoring by MSM Studios/Munich. MSM invented the Pure Audio System
- Surround and 2 channel mixes in high resolution. First release of 2 channel masters in high resolution!
- The Pure Audio system allows for potential crossover appeal including all Blu-ray users

Patricia Barber Modern Cool Track Listing:

1. Touch Of Trash
2. Winter
3. You & The Night & The Music
4. Constantinople
5. Light My Fire
6. Silent Partner
7. Company
8. Let It Rain
9. She's A Lady
10. Love Put On Your Faces
11. Postmodern Blues
12. Let It Rain (Vamp)

Above text borrowed from musicdirect.com.

(I ordered my copy on importcds.com with the 10% off promo code for $19.99 delivered.)

This post is made possible by the generous support of people like you and our sponsors:
  Crux Audio  

Topic - Patricia Barber's "Modern Cool" on Dual Layer Blu-Ray - Mudshark 10:55:24 06/26/12 (31)


Post a Message!

Forgot Password?
Moniker (Username):
Password (Optional):
  Remember my Moniker & Password  (What's this?)    Eat Me
E-Mail (Optional):
Message:   (Posts are subject to Content Rules)
Optional Link URL:
Optional Link Title:
Optional Image URL:
Upload Image:
E-mail Replies:  Automagically notify you when someone responds.