Home Tube DIY Asylum

Do It Yourself (DIY) paradise for tube and SET project builders.

MV rect, filter tuning and sound (long)

The last week has been a major revelation to me. I added MV recifiers to my amps, it significantly improved some aspects but the added RF chokes and caps ("snubbers" to get rid of RF hash), added HF roughness and glare.

I tried a whole bunh of things but they didn't seem to make sense, the change in the sound was not correlated to the reduction in RF hash. Then I started playing around with PSUD with a small stepped current rsponse and tried modeling the different snubbers I'd been trying. What I found was the filters I'd been using were under damped, they "rang" when a transient hit, the snubbers were exacerbating the ringing (it was already there but not as bad). The situations with the most awful HF problems were the ones with the greatest ringing of the filter. Aha, I'm on to something!!

So I started playing around with PSUD trying different choke inductances, DCRs and ap values. What I ound out was that my cap value was quite a bit too small. If I went from 100uf to 500uf I wound up with a 'critically" damped filter, more caused the voltage to slowly change, less caused ringing, right at the critical value the step caused the voltage to quickly change level with out ringing or overshoot, this looked like the place to be. With this cap value adding the snubbers made no differentce.