Home Tape Trail

Reel to reel, cassette and other analogue tape formats.

Hi.. also a newbie, but one observation..

I just bought my first deck (Revox A77) and have virtually no tech. exp. to part out any wisdom.. alhough i did just go through the process of a similar descision.

My question for you would basically be: what do you plan on using the deck for? I'm not positive about the Teac deck you mentioned, but the Akai can only take up to 7" reels. Now, again, i'm no expert, but that will only give you a max. of an 1800' spool and respectively, 96 min. recording time per side at 3.75 speed and 48 min. at 7.5.

I bought my deck to record my lps and one of the reasons i chose the A77 was because it handles 10.5" reels -- max. with 3600' spools of tape at 192 & 96 minutes per side at 3.75 & 7.5 speed respectively.

That's essentially 6 LPs plus at the economy rec. level and 3 Lps per side plus at best quality versus 3 plus LPs per side and 1.5 Lps per side in high quality with 7" reels. Seeing as decks that play the bigger reels acomodate 7" tape as well.. i just wouldn't limit yourself.

I'm not sure if the Teac you mentioned can only handle the smaller reels.. other inmates can jump in and provide that info. for you.. but i think as it sounds like an older, 1960's unit by its model number, i'm guessing that it will also be a 7" max. deck.

What i'm saying is i would hold out and look for a deck that handles the larger 1/4" tape.. they're not hard to find and still come cheap depending on the desirabilty of the unit. I also had a couple friends and nice inmates offer me older decks that only handled the smaller reels for very inexpensive prices. but after doing my research and figuring out what i wanted my deck for, i felt very strongly that using the bigger reels was something that i definetly wanted.