Home SET Asylum

Single Ended Triodes (SETs), the ultimate tube lovers dream.

RE: energy loss and wiring...

Everything we're talking about can be measured. The thing is-- at what price?

Test equipment costs a lot. Arranging personnel and setting up experiments to be scientifically valid is very expensive and horribly time-consuming.

Fortunately, I know a few engineering talents at Universities where I have been a student-- and I know folks from the Oil, Mining, Power and Timber businesses, not to mention Cattle Ranchers.

All of these folks are no fools, although they may differ in both approach and perceived results. Most can afford, and do have-- outstanding home music systems.

All of these people are helpful and will pitch-in and help me when I need it. I'll do it for them also. Set up a new system, or get an existing one better sounding. Then, again, I might just help fix fences or rebuild a tractor engine, or the kid's Motocross Bike. I might wire up Diesel Power for a Mine-- whatever. Neighbors and friends. A strong people who know what they're doing, and are creative and inventive.

None of that need matter to you if you'll just take a hard look at a wiring and component layout.

Just look at it. Where are the Bottlenecks? What is in the way of something else-- or worse, may be shielded by it, it may be in a magnetic or a static field, or it may be mounted at a wrong angle-- to something else.

A wire may be too long. A wire might be near another wire-- or worse, dressed against metal (chassis, etc), or it might not be floated in interior space in the right dimension. Some idiot might have used shielded wire instead of using a single run of-- say-- Siltech LS-38, and then floating it physically where it has to go.