Home SET Asylum

Single Ended Triodes (SETs), the ultimate tube lovers dream.

Comparison is not the point. New territory is.

Hi Gordon,

These OTL's are I think 186 watts per channel. They are massive size amps. I am actually using a 300b preamp with them because the amps don't come with volume controls. It probably makes them sound better.

I believe the sound that I am getting is really not too far from a show quality sound, even though I am sure the speakers could be upgraded to a more advanced model.

I'm not really comparing speakers, nor amps. That is not the point of the post. Maybe I am comparing paradigms to some extent.

What I am doing is trying to understand what I have been hearing for a few years now. I am trying to understand and with some understanding I am trying to develop the conceptual tools to understand it more.

There is no doubt that the SET amplification presents a fundamentally different type of soundstage than the other system. I am just beginning to realize what the differences are and the post is an attempt to begin to understand it.

I am trying to delineate the variables involved, and to make suggestions about audio sound and how to better develop it.

I heard the best in show sounds. Putting everything the best possible including careful selection of cds and the highlight of an amazing vinyl recording, I also heard what it fundamentally lacks.

Recently at the VTV show in New Jersey, I heard a push-pull system sound way better than anything else. It had such a nice tone to the music, but when was the last time you were at something live and you sat there and thought "what a nice tone"?

Audio started with tubes, these push-pull amplifiers, that really had some great stuff. Then maybe the awful SS started, and then in response, tubes tried to show they could do similarly and developed a rather sterile sound.

Time to move on.