Home Propeller Head Plaza

Technical and scientific discussion of amps, cables and other topics.

RE: Balanced Unbalanced Cable

It's the audiophile industry. It is snake oil.

Let me explain from a perspective most folks do not have. I was a designer/engineer for one of the most famous audiophile manufacturers. I was paid very well and was the primary designer for some gear I now see many people paying mega-bucks for, used. That makes me feel good. A validation as it were. However, I left the industry because I felt the direction it was taking was not in the best interest of pure reproduction of the recordings nor was it advancing the state of the art. It was instead a direction that made the products only sound different from other makers gear. Even if this meant adding distortion or making products that were not accurate, even though they were marketed that way.

Now they actually sell bonafide falsehoods, fakery and fraud. They wrap it up in mystical sounding techno-babble and perpetrate fraud on a ravenous bunch of audiophools ready to accept whatever nonsense is newest and different. These folks are not fools really, they just been wound up by this industry.

The fact is the state of the art has already been achieved or very close to it. However they do not want the buying public to be aware of this fact. The designs are now only limited by the electronic components characteristics (resistors, capacitors, semiconductors, etc). The circuit topologies have all been explored ad-nausea. The only improvements come about when the component manufacturers produce something new, which is very rare these days, especially with analog components. The biggest most recent advance in analog technologies was MOSFET and that was 30 years ago.