Home Propeller Head Plaza

Technical and scientific discussion of amps, cables and other topics.

Re: A certain lack of knowledge

"But of course you are familiar with all of this."

Even though it's been 40 years since I studied it and a few decades since I worked in related industries...yes I am.

Silicon is considered a "semiconductor" which is a transition element between metals and non metals. It's in the same group as carbon and germanium. It has a higher melting point than most metals. Not all non metals are gases at normal temperature and pressure. Among them are Arsenic and Phosphorous which are commonly used as N type dopants as well as sulfur which isn't.