Home Pro Audio Asylum

Pro studio recording equipment and music production/industry.

Re: The color of my parachute!

James,
Wow, I have to say I'm pretty much in agreement this time. One thing about university-taught engineers in the U.S. is that, no, if an engineer has the passion for what he/she is designing, then there are no limits. I believe that we have some of the finest engineers and finest minds on the planet in the U.S. Unfortunately, unless those bright engineers can dump a limitless amount of money into their own hobby or their own business, they are controlled by the business world. It impresses me to see how much you know about audio electronics being self-taught -- my hat's off to you. But, from an engineer's perspective, please understand that it is EXTREMELY frustrating to work for a company doing design work. It is not that engineers don't think outside the box; they do. If engineers were turned loose to compete against each other, then companies would start making products that simply can't be beat, because product development would be driven by engineers instead of business majors. Either the companies would unfortunately go under because nobody can afford the high quality products, or the companies' marketers would suddenly have to step into overdrive to keep their company competitive. It's that employers, like you said, are trying to churn out mass-produced, mediocre-at-best quality products. I know how the American buying public is. They don't want the best in one or two categories, they want to have everything, and get as much for as little as possible. I think this sort of makes America the great place that it is. If I had to buy all Ping to get into golf, buy all Theta and Classe to get into power amps, and buy all Ferarri to get into cars, then I'd never have it all. But, give me some Wilson clubs, a Sony receiver, and a Chevy Cavalier and suddenly I'm the American that has it all, even though I might not have the best. Does that sound ri