Home Pro Audio Asylum

Pro studio recording equipment and music production/industry.

Re: Ban compressors from Audio

Well I'm a current professional audio engineer, working in classical and jazz mainly. Of course there are three chord wonders out there, but there are many good professional players as well, I know because I work with them. Its easy to be dismissive of current music, and technology, and there is a lot of crap talked about valve gear. I've used good valve gear and good modern gear. Some modern kit is amazingly good, some not, but that was the same in the 50's and 60's. A lot of who you are calling so called three chord wonders, play vintage gear, so the argument that its their amps doesn't stand up. As to compression, it was the watchword of recordings done in the 50's and 60's and before. It was virtually impossible to record without the use of compressors at those times because of the noise factor from tape machines.

I've recently been remastering some recordings of Hendrix from 67 and the record quality is far from wonderful, mainly due to the inherent technical limitations of the equipement used. There are some nice vintage mic amps, but there are many good modern ones, there are some nice vintage compressors, equally there are modern ones that are just as good. As for microphones, there are some great modern ones, and some classic vintage ones, most that are still being used today.