Home Computer Audio Asylum

Music servers and other computer based digital audio technologies.

Linux Not Bit-Perfect .....HUH??!??!?!

You haven't shown that you are getting bit perfect audio from the two versions of Linux.
----------------------------------------------------

If I send 3 different files recorded at 3 different sample rates and both the proc information from the computer and the Dac say they are sending and recieveing the sample rates correctly how is this not proof of bit-perfect?

If I used the guide lines provided by the audio software [MPD] and ALSA to configure bit perfect audio, how is this not proof of bit-perfect?

I have been using Linux for the past 6+ years and have always gotten bit-perfect. I've been into Computer Audio for nearly 10 years so the pro's surely have been using it longer than me. Bit-Perfect from Linux is no secret and it surely does not lag behind Windows and Mac.

If you don't think people can and do get bit-perfect audio from Linux then what can I say? I guess Linux will be bit-perfect when you say it is....and Linux users will know how to get bit-perfect when you show us how because we are all doing it the same way.

BTW, Pro audio was using computers a lot longer than 10 years ago. ProTools has been out for more than 20 years.

Wiki: