Home Computer Audio Asylum

Music servers and other computer based digital audio technologies.

M-Audio Audiophile USB with other devices

I am a newbie on this part of the board although I've been interested in other audio stuff for eons. If this all is beginner dumb stuff to the rest of you, I will slink away into the night. :)

I use a MacBook Pro at work and often drag it home. I was running its headphone output through a mini-to-mini cable into Klipsh iFi speakers. Unfortunately, the daily insertion and removal of the connector took its toll on the Mac's headphone jack (and no, I was not a brute, it's just a weak part) and I had to replace two of them before concluding that a USB solution would be preferable, if only to preserve my computer for the long haul. I then purchased a cheapo Griffin iMic that worked at least for the purpose of getting a signal out through some part other than the headphone jack.

I then started reading about upgrading the sound quality from Macs and found a great price on a used M-Audio Audiophile USB. I am sure that I am wasting its many capabilities as I basically use it just to link the computer to the iFi's using an RCA-to-mini cable, but I can see that it's upgraded my computer's sound quality immensely, although it does not have the gain that the iMic had.