Home Hi-Rez Highway

New high resolution SACD releases, players and technology.

You're on the right track

I'm not a video expert in any sense of the word, but by reading the forums where the video freaks hang out (such as avsforum.com), it appears that the digital video output of choice at present is HDMI. The previous generation of universal players, such as the Denon 2900 I used to have, do not have HDMI outputs. The latest generation, such as the Onkyo SP1000 I presently have, do have an HDMI output. The HDMI output carries with it not only digital video, but digital audio as well. Because of this, there are at least two ways the HDMI output of a universal player can be used.

1) Run the HDMI output to the HDMI input of a home theater processor, and run the processor's HDMI output to the HDMI input of the display. This makes use of the audio D/A converters of the home theater processor, rather than the universal player. Looking at the manual of the Onkyo, it appears that this will degrade audio quality in somc cases, even if the D/A's are as good on the processor as they are in the universal player. I don't know if this is a property the HDMI interface specification itself, or specific to the HDMI interface that the Onkyo has, but digital audio is restricted to 44.1 kHz and 48 kHz PCM on the Onkyo's HDMI interface. So DVD-A and DVD-V with 96 kHz PCM or higher are downconverted to 48 kHz before being sent out over HDMI. And I suppose that if SACD works at all over this interface, it must be converted to 48 kHz or 44.1 kHz PCM. Definitely bad news.