Home Headphone Heights

Welcome to Headphone Heights, the place for all your ear bud discussion

New Sennheiser Momentum 2 first impressions...

I wanted to first thank everyone for the suggestions. I'm a total headphone newbie so I truly appreciate all the input.

I'm hardly qualified to give a detailed headphone review but I'll post my initial impressions of the Sennheiser Momentum 2 and compare them to my Grado SR80. I have only 3 hours on the Sennheisers and I'm not sure if I should expect things to change with break-in.

I'm driving the headphones with my Oppo HA-1 headphone amp / DAC using 'hi-res' 24/96 music files from my Mac Mini.

The Sennheisers are noticeably more sensitive (louder) than my Grados so I have to adjust and match the volume level when swapping headphones.

The Mementum 2 have ear 'cups' that fit perfectly over my average sized ears. My ears are completely 'inside' these cups with no room to spare so if you have big ears, these might be uncomfortable. I can barely feel the leather (or faux leather?) wrapped band on my head and the ear cups feel like soft foam wrapped in very soft leather or faux leather.... like the soft leather seats in some luxury cars. They're nice and they don't feel tight on my head or ears. They're comfortable but they eventually make my ears feel a little warm. That's fine because I wanted a closed headphone to block ambient noise.

Coming off the Grado SR80 the first thing I noticed in the Momentum 2 is the deep rich bass. It doesn't sound wooly to me but it's more prominent vs the Grados. Is this to be expected in a closed headphone vs open air design? Everything sounds clear and transparent with great dynamics and treble extension through the Momentum 2. I also like the fact that they passively block outside noise which my Grados can't do.