Home Amp/Preamp Asylum

Looking for a new Amp or Preamp? If you're after tubes, post over here.

RE: Parasound A21 VS SST Son of Ampzilla ll

Wow, that's a tough question that opens up several possibilities as you can tell by the responses so far.

Having owned two Odyssey Stratos (Plus & Extreme) I can tell you that these amps are pleasantly on the warm side so if you're looking for more warmth you might be better served taking another path.

I have very little experience with Parasound amps but I've heard a couple in a dealer showroom. They are truly outstanding and sanely priced but I never thought of them as being warm. They're just great sounding amps and I would have to say they are LESS warm than your existing Stratos Extreme.

That leaves the Son of Ampzilla. I owned a pair of Ampzilla 2000 2nd Edition mono blocks. They were very refined as solid-state goes with a slight bit of warmth but not as warm as your Odyssey amp. Definitely more transparent, dynamic, and overall better sounding though. Same for the Pass Labs X150 & X150.5. Better sounding overall but not quite as warm as the Odyssey. I also recall having to leave my Odyssey amp ON 24/7 for best results. No big deal because being biased AB they draw only about 75w at idle.

I think JoshT also mentioned a couple CJ SS amps. I had the MF-2250se (oops, I actually had the MF-2250A. I don't think they made an SE version back then). In any case, the CJ was wonderfully warm and smooth but it was also a little more on the polite side when it came to leading edge 'punch' with some percussive instruments. They no longer make it but there are comparable newer designs available. See the post by JoshT.

My thoughts on the Ampzilla 2000 2nd Edition posted in 2014