Home Planar Speaker Asylum

Welcome! Need support, you got it. Or share your ideas and experiences.

Perception of Maggie Bass response part II

I appreciate all the thoughtful feedback from those who responded to my post. Everyone had good points but none quite answered my question, probably because I wasn't very clear. I'm a mechanical design engineer by trade, with a lifetime of speaker design as a passion, and I'm familiar with practical application of the scientific method. In referring to my impressions of the difference in bass 'quality', I was not using the term as a value statement or in comparison to some benchmark of "quality". The difference in the sound 'quality' was not do to different sources, a different frequency, different sound pressure levels, different room environment, or differing speaker locations, or microphone placement--these had all been eliminated as variables. There must be another variable which hasn't been isolated yet, i just don't know what it is.