Home Planar Speaker Asylum

Welcome! Need support, you got it. Or share your ideas and experiences.

MG12's verses .7's

I currently have a pair of both in-house. And I've been doing a comparison for the last three months.

.7's are much easier to drive. My volume decreased by at least 25%.

.7's are much less forgiving than the MG12's. My system did not have a bit of grain in it with the 12s at high-volume. The .7's sounded grainy at high volume, and seem to break up The frequencies.

In my room the .7's go much lower than the MG12's.

My REL S3 SHO sub could no longer be corner loaded and had to be to be pulled out and the sub crossover settings and volume changed quite drastically. More difficult to blend with the .7 then the MG12. Still fiddling with sub settings and placement for the .7's.

The REL corner loaded with the MG12 really pressurize the room. Even at low volume I had impactful base.

.7's The soundstage is wider and deeper and the imaging is slightly more precise within the soundstage.

10 to 15% more detail with the .7's. Not hyper detail but close.

The .7's are 8 inches wider apart than the 12s with much less tow-in and 2 inches closer to the front wall.

In my room the biggest difference and the weakest link of the .7's were the gaps in the frequency responses at the transition frequencies. Mids to highs big gap and lower mids to upper bass big gap. Thought it might be upstream but there's no sign of that with the 12s.

The 12s have sweeter mid range and a more romantic sound and the .7's are much more analytical with their presentation.

Musicality and goosebumps I prefer the MG12's.

The .7's are screaming for tubes somewhere in the chain. A tube preamp would go miles with these speakers. Because of the efficiency differences between the .7's and the 12s, I would not be afraid of a medium power tube amp.

I live in a small town home sitting near field, my system has to do double duty for music and TV/movies, so tube amps need not apply.