Home Planar Speaker Asylum

Welcome! Need support, you got it. Or share your ideas and experiences.

Hehe ... have I got a plan 4 U!! :-)) (looong)

Hi bullfrog,

That's a pretty heavy thing you're laying on me, mate ... I mean, I don't know whether you have a modicum of DIY or are ham-fisted ... and how familiar you are with electronics concepts (can you read XO schematics and can you solder?) ... and how big is your wallet!!?? :-))

That being said, I'd be delighted to help you get the best out of your IIIas. Feel free to email/PM me with any Qs.

I've been playing around with mine for getting on 15 years and they sing more sweetly now than they ever did! :-)) Sure, if I made the same improvements to a pair of 3.6s they would sound better ... but that would involve a big expense, to say nothing about effort (which would eat into my "listening" time! :-)) ). And personally, I think there's only a marginal difference between IIIas and 3.3s/3.5s ... only with the 3.6 and its "quasi-ribbon" mid-range did Magnepan produce a substantial improvement.

BTW, according to "urban myth", Magnepan staff regard the IIIa as their favourite workhorse! :-))

Having said that though, I feel I need to point out that 3-way Maggies require a relatively large room to give their best. Yes, you might have bought your IIIas for a steal but, if you only have a small listening space, perhaps it would be better to trade/swap them for some smaller Maggies which would fit the room better?

My own room is 27' x 17' with a pitched ceiling which gets to about 14' down the centre, so my IIIas have plenty of room to breathe ... a mate of mine has Maggie IIIs in a room about 16' x 13' and I really feel his listening suffers! :-(( IE. he should really move to smaller Maggies! :-((