Home Music Lane

It's all about the music, dude! Sit down, relax and listen to some tunes.

NHK Symphony "Afternoon Classic Series" [video].....

Selected concerts can now be viewed for free on the NHK Symphony Orchestra site..... Not quite the video or sound quality of the Berlin Philharmonic "Digital Concert Hall", but at least it's free and an opportunity to watch video of recent NHK Symphony concerts. (I believe the NHK is currently the best symphony orchestra in the world.)

The current video, which can be viewed until the end of June, led by resident conductor Junichi Hirokami, includes Bruch's Violin Concerto with Daniel Hope on the violin..... Followed by Beethoven's Seventh Symphony.

Hope put forth a decent performance of the Bruch concerto, but has the common failing of being "choppy" (lacking lyricism) in the final movement. Hirokami's B-7 was also decent, he captures the articulations in the final movement, albeit some "strange" phrasings in the recapitulation. The first two movements should be played without pause, but wasn't done this way here. But still, one of the better B-7's I've heard in recent time.

This post is made possible by the generous support of people like you and our sponsors:
  Kimber Kable  

Topic - NHK Symphony "Afternoon Classic Series" [video]..... - Todd Krieger 01:00:40 05/31/17 (4)


Post a Message!

Forgot Password?
Moniker (Username):
Password (Optional):
  Remember my Moniker & Password  (What's this?)    Eat Me
E-Mail (Optional):
Message:   (Posts are subject to Content Rules)
Optional Link URL:
Optional Link Title:
Optional Image URL:
Upload Image:
E-mail Replies:  Automagically notify you when someone responds.