Home Vintage Asylum

Classic gear from yesteryear; vintage audio standing the test of time.

"More of those were used by the US forces in WWI than the Springfield."

Hi Jerry,

Mine was 'just heavy enough for you' as the stock maker said.

Mind you this was in my twenties when I was a small-arms instructor, marksman and marksmanship coach, and could throw an L1A1 SLR (FAL?) around like it was a long toy.
The Sporter M1917 was most versatile rifle I ever owned. You can even load 110-gr bullets, though the smallest I used were 130 hollow-points.

The main thing for me about the Mauser Enfield is the action's smoothness and ease, unlike all other front locking Mausers, which cock on opening and can get quite notchy and stiff when hot. Makes a much better sniper rifle as a P14 or M1917, as a result.

One other advantage is that it can be re-barrelled and chambered for longer and belted magnums as the bolt's throw is long and the whole thing over-built. The original British Army cartridge was a HV 7mm magnum.

IMO the influence of target shooters and wrong lessons learned from 7MM Mausers in the 2nd Boer War was an 'interesting rat-hole' for the British Army, fortuitously fixed by July-August 1914's events.

As we did quite a bit of pig shooting on mobs in scrub and timbered country, emptying and refilling the mag was common. I used 150 or 170 gr soft nose / HN bullets for pigs. Ball (FMJ) was pretty damned good though, and free.

I found that a 5-round clip / not putting a sixth in was best, and a lot quicker when reloading!! I'd picked up a few clips in my service, the Army wanted the brass but couldn't care about the clips. ? The case and rim diam. of .30-06 and 7.62/.308Win are the same.