Home Vintage Asylum

Classic gear from yesteryear; vintage audio standing the test of time.

RE: Recommendations for a signal/function generator

Really just about any Fn generator will probably suffice. If you ever need a faster signal than they produce you can always just run the output through a high-speed logic gate with a Schmitt trigger input.

I have a couple, an oddball battery powered Wavetek (my wife used to work at the company) and a Chinese thing that used to be available under several brands which I bought used, I think mine's a B&K and goes to 2 MHz and has a built-in digital readout (counter). It's the one I use the most because it never has a dead battery.

Congratulations on getting a scope, I've been using them seriously since 1967 so it's hard for me to imagine not having one. Yet many people accomplish a lot without them. Somehow...

Here's an example of their flexibility: Many, many years ago I started lusting for a preamp with a remote volume control. Sooo, I trotted down to my dealer and bought one. A NAD of some nature. And the volume control worked fine but it didn't sound very good. So I dragged home a bunch of test equipment and tried to figure out what I was hearing. Well, all the routine tests had routine results so I decided to try some bizarre tests. I dumped a squarewave into it and looked at the delay time from the rising edge to ANY response at the output, I suppose vaguely it's tangental sensitivity.