Home Vintage Asylum

Classic gear from yesteryear; vintage audio standing the test of time.

Flashlight battery question

I have a mantel clock I made from an Emperor kit around 1980. It is solid walnut and came with precut pieces that I assembled much like a model plane assembly. I then finished it with tung oil. I also have an Emperor kit grandfathers clock in walnut I assembled from a larger kit in the late 1970s but that is a story for another day.

My recollection is that they sold these mantel clock kits in two versions, one with a real german brass mechanical chiming movement, and the same clock but with just a battery movement. The battery movement version was inexpensive, IIRC $50 for the entire kit, but the mechanical movement version was $150 and had to be wound weekly with a key. Anyhow, being a poor professor, I ordered and ended up with the battery-powered version.

The clock stopped and I presumed it needed a new battery, but it's a pain to get on and off the mantel, as I always come close to dropping it. Anyhow I was changing clock time yesterday and decided I needed to get the mantel clock running again.

The movement is fairly big for a battery-powered movement, and uses a "C" not "AA" cell. Anyhow I got it down, looked inside and sure enough both terminals of the battery were corroded with a white gook. What is that stuff anyway, that forms on dead alkaline batteries? I fought that getting my old VOM working too. It's a good insulator and is tough to clean. I was thinking maybe copper chloride but it;s white not blue. Anyhow I cleaned up both terminals and put in a fresh battery and thought the movement would start right up again, but no luck at all. So I took the movement out and discovered it wasnt locked up as the balance wheeel would go back and forth when I shook the movement, but it wouldn't run under its own power.