Home Vintage Asylum

Classic gear from yesteryear; vintage audio standing the test of time.

RE: Nakamichi PA5 and PA7, opinions

Well, I should try to restrain my irrepressible nature. Still, you did encourage me about the modding! I shall attempt to confine myself to potentially meaningful observations.

Despite shooting off my figurative mouth like an idiot (including the section concerning the Onkyo tuner), I did manage to avoid blithering about things about which I know nothing, such as the Threshold CAS-1.

How Nakamichi fell somewhat short in its execution of the Stasis design is also something about which I have no specific knowledge. I do not think it is as simple as parts quality. I think it is a matter of design. I really have no specific clue in what way.

My general impression is that the Nakamichi engineers were so concerned about addressing minutiae that had previously been considered either insignificant, or insurmountable, or both, that they often missed the forest for the trees.

Hearing that their digital audio gear wasn't good sounding, they seemingly became obsessed with things like digital timing glitches and interference from airborne and structural vibration. They must have read some underground audio rags to try to figure out how to meet the expectations of their potential customers, or something.

They had some hermetically-sealed double-isolated CD players (one was for the car), and so on. Digital sections were put in separate enclosures or compartments, then subdivided and shielded again -- all with individually filtered power. This became bulky, inconvenient, and expensive.