Home SET Asylum

Single Ended Triodes (SETs), the ultimate tube lovers dream.

RE: Many Times...

"Let me make a small correction - "there is no KNOWN scientific reason ..." We don't know everything, and specifically we don't know what we don't know.

My experience is that caps and transformers sound pretty bad at first, and in most cases 50 hours or so of music will resolve the problem."

I hear what you say, and I would certainly respect your opinion and beliefs. However, from my point of view I face a dilemma, for the following reasons. I personally am unable to hear any of the subtle effects that you and others speak of, when it comes to break-in of wires, joints, capacitors, resistors or whatever. I know my hearing is not very good, and so I could just put it down to my poor hearing.

On the other hand, as a scientist I am always naturally sceptical of claims, and I always like to make order-of-magnitude estimates of claimed effects, to try to judge whether they are plausible. On that basis, it has to be said that there do not, in general, seem to be plausible effects that are likely to be of sufficient magnitude to account for an audibly-different sound resulting from, say, a freshly-soldered joint versus a joint that has passed small audio currents for a few hundred hours. Likewise with a bit of interconnecting wire, or even a whole transformers-worth of wire. If there were such effects that could exceed the human threshold of audibility, they would easily be measurable by precision instruments. Unless someone can produce verifiable measurements that support the claim of audibility, I would have to remain sceptical.

Yet another point is that there are, on the other hand, extremely well documented experiments that indicate that the human brain is very easily tricked into "seeing" things that are not there, or not seeing things that are there, and likewise with other senses including hearing.