Home Propeller Head Plaza

Technical and scientific discussion of amps, cables and other topics.

Re: All of it. You are not listening. nt

Ah but you see this is where you are very wrong. I am listening, a lot, and I am working my way backwards from the listening to the explanation. I am a scientist so I believe in cause and effect. I make observations on sound and then try to develop a hypothesis for why I hear what I hear.

Start with listening, if you are familiar with how music SHOULD sound (unamplified of course) then it is not so difficult to spot gear that keeps good recordings in tact (not just sounding good but sounding realistic). Once you have identified such gear you start looking at measurements to see if they have similar patterns in distortion harmonics, distortion vs. power, distortion vs. frequency, frequency response, etc. etc. I think I have identified general trends that seem to apply to various circuit types and now I am in search of answers as to the cause of such behavior that gives good sound and bad sound.

I know enough electronics and engineering to look at the circuit by its elements and think about how the signal really flows through the circuit rather than a black box approach as soundmind stated "just look at the damping factor!" as if that suddenly explained everything. I am looking at the damping factor and asking a hard question as to why it drops suddenly around 1Khz (give or take) with a simultaneous rise in distortion.