Home Pro Audio Asylum

Pro studio recording equipment and music production/industry.

about Absolute Polarity

I do believe many people can hear polarity issues, but many do not recognize the sound of polarity issues. They often attribute what they hear to other factors: speakers, amps, whatever. I had been attending CES since 1982 and only stopped a couple of years ago. In the last few years I would ask, usually when the rooms were empty, if I could switch polarity on the demo speakers in many rooms. Most exhibitors were rather stunned to hear the difference.

I remember one manufacturer who looked at me politely but acquiesced to my request since he had a Wadia player with the polarity inversion switch. He first requested that he stand behind my chair in order to hear what I was hearing. In flipping the switch he was stunned. He told me ( I was already a dealer for his other products) that while he understood the theoretical ramifications of polarity inversion, he has never really bothered to attempt to identify the hearing with the theory.

I did that to a Chinese made speaker exhibition too. It was called the Morkai, IIRC, and as I entered the room I could hear the exhibitors anxiously whispering that something was wrong and the sound was not what it should be; A complex design it had a tri wired crossover, IIRC. I told the exhibitor I believed his woofer was out of phase and we swapped wires on the woofer module and he was instantly gratified. I was rather surprised he mentioned me in his CES report.