Home Computer Audio Asylum

Music servers and other computer based digital audio technologies.

RE: DAC jitter rejection

"If you were an engineer with experience designing DACs, you would know that its not that simple"

I am an engineer. And I can tell you, I extremely well understand your challenges. I got myself pretty deep into interface design.

You IMO ask a lot of money for your products compared to the competition.
I'd therefore expect a sophisticated solution.

If you still integrate prebuild stuff like hiface ( wavelength, centrance stuff wouldn't be any different in this regard) or whatever interface
you'll have difficulties to get around the limitations, which come with those designs. The same is valid for SPDIF interface chips.

Just building a nice power supply around it and doing some extra filtering might not be sufficient.

"The best solution IMO is to leave the D/A alone and feed it the lowest possible jitter source..."

Your simplistic logic makes me scream.

First of all you need to put a very thick and high wall between you and the source feeding you.

Some weeks ago we had pretty much the same discussion. And it was you mentioning something like "source related distortions are all about common mode noise. And you got it finally under control now"

???? What about it ?????

"What you evidently don't get is that it's the fixed frequency clock with low jitter..."

Believe me I got a deeper technical understanding about all this than you'd believe.

Meanwhile there are quite some designs with fixed clocks out there.

Even those need a well done source isolation.

Asynchronous USB transfer modes obviously improved over simplistic PCM2707 isynchronous implementations. However. There is still plenty of impact of source related distortions left. I've been running an isynchronous device with a reclocker behind it recently.
I can tell you, you wouldn't hear a difference to pure asynchronous ( even bulk transfer ) designs.