Home OTL Asylum

OTL, Output Transformerless Amplifier User Group.

Re: What is wrong with Futterman?

I was chief engineer for New York Audio Labs during OTL production years and I have been upgrading and redesigning Futterman OTL's for 23 years. Go to http://moscode.home.att.net/ for my website and background. Let me give you the low down on the Futterman OTL circuit.
FIRST OF ALL- In the 23+ years of being associated with this amplifier design I have NEVER received a report of speaker damage!!! NOT ONE!! 2 things contribute to this. First, each tube has a 2 amp fuse so tube shorts and arc - overs are quickly removed from the circuit. Second, with the exception of a few custom OCL direct-coupled designs there is an output capacitor that effectively blocks all DC from the output. There is no more danger to your speakers from a Futterman than there is from any transformer coupled amplifier. I know for a fact that there are many more toasted voice coils from solid state amplifiers.
Let's talk about instability. There is a fundamental flaw in Julius's design that led him to use a kluge to fix. The flaw is that the low frequency pole point of the speaker and output capacitor is very close to the pole point of the coupling capacitor and grid resistors of the output stage. Varying speaker impedance can cause the amplifier to oscillate or motor boat. Julius alleviated this problem by splitting the feedback loop inot two paths and reduced the interaction of the speaker in the feedback loop. This sort-of worked but didn't eliminate the problem. This is easily corrected by moving the pole point of the output stage RC coupling circuit far away from the output cap-speaker pole point by using followers to drive the outputstage which allows a higher resistance in the grid of the follower circuit. Problem solved.
Other instability problems are solved by regulating the G2 of the input tube 6EJ7. This gets rid of another pole point in the amplifier.