Home Hi-Rez Highway

New high resolution SACD releases, players and technology.

REVIEW: Pioneer DV59avi vs. Denon 2900

REVIEW: Pioneer Elite DV59AVi vs. Denon 2900

In November, I purchased a Denon 2900. I had been looking for a universal player that had bass management features to fit my system, which uses two-way minimonitors (B&W CDM1s) for the front speakers. I use a B&W ASW 1000 sub with them for stereo music. The Denon was the first player in the under $1500 range that I was aware of that did all the formats and had digital bass management. I bought it without really auditioning it against anything else and was pleased with the results. Although I had read a lot that universal players were poor at CD, it completely squashed my Marantz DR700, which I had been using as a transport for a few years.

However, I began to have second thoughts about the 2900’s lack of digital video capabilities. I bought the player largely for music. With my analog Sony XBR TV, I can’t do progressive scan and certainly not digital video inputs. I’m not planning on buying into HDTV for at least another year, maybe two. Originally, I passed up the Denon 5900, which has DVI and Firewire, because at 2.5x times the price I paid for the 2900, it seemed like a better bet to buy another $800 player in two years. At that point, it would almost certainly include digital video outs at that price. But when I read that Pioneer had shipped a new player with the next gen HDMI outputs and Firewire for $1300, the economics seemed more ambiguous. I had bought the Denon at Tweeter, which has a 120 day upgrade policy, so I was able to bring home the Pioneer and listen face to face, after about 4 days of playing the Stereophile break-in track. This review covers that.

As transport

I’ve never had a CD player that does D/A as well as my B&K Ref 30 pre/pro, including the Denon 2900. So I began auditioning the Pioneer as a transport.