Home Critic's Corner

Discuss a review. Provide constructive feedback. Talk to the industry.

RE: Well one could certainly contest a couple of points

Not that it matters since posters to this board will believe as they will (and everyone is entitled to their own opinion in the first place), but I think here you're overlooking a few things, perhaps quite deliberately.

1/ It's not about whether *you* like my writing, Morricab. It's about manufacturers coming to us who aren't DIYers or hobbyists but professionals. They make money designing, making and selling hifi gear. They come to us wanting a review regardless of your feelings about it. Clearly they see a benefit in it or they wouldn't come. And how they use our reviews (on their websites, in hand-outs, in print-outs for shows etc) clearly demonstrates this benefit in further action.

2/ When I talk 'professional' about 6moons and myself, I'm referring to a number of things.
a/ I do this for a living, i.e. full-time, without a secondary income elsewhere. You may not like my writing, I may not like the amplifier you make. If we're both in it full-time to make a living, we're professionals by definition. This isn't an issue of 'like'. It's an issue of how one makes a livelihood. This is very basic.
b/ at 6moons we deliver our reviews in a timely manner and return products afterwards. We take our own photos. We tend to go beyond just basic coverage. We present things in a clean tidy manner. Considering the various standards at play when it comes to that, one could feel inclined to accord us professional behaviour on those counts as well. Or not. But again,that's not the main point. This is: