Home Critic's Corner

Discuss a review. Provide constructive feedback. Talk to the industry.

I'm no engineer...

but I think it to be true that some, many, most, whatever, of a tube amplfier's sonic characteristic is affected by the impendance of the speaker, which, I understand, is why many, if not most, tube amplifier manufacturers build their amplifiers with multiple speaker taps - so the consumer can choose the tap which most closely corresponds to his or her speaker's average impedance. I get that impendances can vary widely in the same speaker, but they all have an average.

Now, it seems to me, that in a powered speaker, with the in-house amplifier controlling the the lower frequencies, the speaker's impedance at those frequencies relative to the tube amplifier is either significantly less important or not relevant because the tube amplifier is not being asked to reproduce those frequencies. Presumably the in-houses' amplifier performance at those frequencies is the only relevant factor. Indeed, I think that many speaker manufacturer's market their speakers to tube amplifier owners on the theory that their tube amplifier will not be required to power the lower frequencies, and consequently they will be get the better bass of the in-house amplifiers, with the sonic characteristics that supposedly led the audiophile to purchase their tube amp in the first place - sweeter mids and highs. Now you don't need to put up with sloppy bass.