Home Planar Speaker Asylum

Welcome! Need support, you got it. Or share your ideas and experiences.

Re: LFTVIIIa crossover mods

Jazzbeat,

I am not an electrical engineer, just an experienced eq tweaker. I'll have to trust you on resistance vs reluctance.

OTOH, I think that replacing capacitors and coils with 'supposedly' better parts can produce good results in certain situations.

Why?

1. The variation in speaker cable resistance, amplifier damping factor, and component precision can be pretty large to begin with. I know that the caps labeled '470uf' in my LFT-VI's measured in at '590uf' on my B&K meter. When I asked Bruce Thigpin about this, he said it wasn't too critical and that the 'specified' value was probably better as it reduced the low-frequency power to the mid-panels, reducing the chance that I'd damage them with high volumes. Hmmmm... I thought these were supposed to be 10% parts too!

2. This is my opinion, but I don't think that most speaker manufacturers do a great job of looking at all areas of crosover/speaker interaction in designing their speakers. I know that some do and that it's easier to do today with the availability of modeling software, but when I see how many speakers can't pass a recognizable step indicating that they are not fully time and phase coherent, I despair.

3. My understanding (and I am willing to be wrong and further educated here) is that with 'simple' 1st order xovers, the difference the more complex parameters make in the system response is pretty small and that a lower-resistance coil can make an improviement in driver damping and perceived sound quality in a manner similar to a higher-damping-factor amplifer. Again, my understanding is that with a more complex crossover, the situation is more complex and you may change the crossover in a way you don't want with the substitution of a lower-R coil.