Home Planar Speaker Asylum

Welcome! Need support, you got it. Or share your ideas and experiences.

RE: Mini Maggies for rear surrounds?

I chose the Rhythmik F12 over the Rel for 2 reasons: 1. I wanted a sealed box servo sub as opposed to one with either a port or passive radiator. The Engineers that I work with told me a sealed sub has less "impulse smear" than a sub with 2 sources of physical output (cone and/or port/passive radiator). They also told me servo control when properly implemented can improve transient response and eliminate some ringing and decay time. I am not a techno scientist but their arguments made sense to me.

2. The published spec of the Rel T9 is -9dB @ 28 Hz (in room) as opposed to Rythmik's -2dB @ 14 Hz (not specified: in room, anechoic, or free space). Despite my non techno thinking I do understand the Rythmik goes substantially lower, nearly an octave ... according to the manufacturers specs.

Both brands seem highly regarded so your choice is .......... your choice! I do love my Rythmik, it blends amazingly well for music and is astounding in theatrical playback. War of the Worlds physically bounces our seats as my old homes floor joists and room are energized. You should see the expression on my guests faces. Then it can be truly subtle and delicate, even "tuneful" when playing music.

The MC-1's published frequency response is 80-24kHz. I cross over to the Rythmik @ 80 Hz. Subjectively it feels like it goes lower than 80Hz but we know better!