Home Planar Speaker Asylum

Welcome! Need support, you got it. Or share your ideas and experiences.

RE: Are my ears really that sensitive?

Cheers, yeah that's right. I'm not too technical with stuff like Davey and Satie are, but just like playing around, and you never know until you try is quite true with Maggies in my (reasonably limited) experience. Magnepan must do that to some degree too, - look at all the tension buttons in the 3.7 for example. I suspect some of that was done by trial and error.

I find it useful and v interesting to have some solid technical input at times though, so many thanks for your sound input Davey, and thanks to Satie who in the past pretty much taught me all I know about crossovers etc. Didn't do that much physics at school (wish I had) but it's really great to learn a little bit to help with this hobby later in life!

The stock MGIII crossover was good (much better than the MGIIIa crossover IMO) but I had a bit of a suckout between 400-900 Hz, though the troublesome 1-2 Khz area was much improved. The bass was also a little too prominent. Will post the Anthem ARC FR graph of this setup I measured last night (average of 5 different microphone positions around the listening area).

To improve things Roger (who has experience and some simulation software) kindly suggested to increase the external HP caps to 60 uF, which decreases the midrange dip and the 1-2 KHz is still much better than the MGIIIa crossover (the latter had a considerably bigger peak). I used Neo's spreadsheet to run simulations too and saw the same thing.

I've increased the midrange caps from 35 uF to 45 uF and really like the result. Bass is less muddy and not as overbearing, and the suckout in the midrange is really improved. I tried 60 uF too and that was pretty good, but the bass was getting a little weak. I suppose that also adjusting the tweeter attenuation resistor would alter the balance as well so I need to try that too with these new different cap values.