Shady Lane

Retailers, Manufacturers, ePay, AudiogoN, Paypal or whatever. Buying and selling advice.

Return to Shady Lane


Message Sort: Post Order or Asylum Reverse Threaded

Craigslist - someone in NJ has replicated my ebay ad

24.44.185.173

Posted on May 5, 2012 at 20:42:19
Gofast
Audiophile

Posts: 486
Location: New York Metro
Joined: March 1, 2006
I've had my second pair of rebuilt Quad ESL63 listed in a few places, including here, and on ebay.

I just got notified by an ebay member that someone on Craigslist NY has used my picture and text for an ad, which by definition is totally misleading, as its highly unlikely that anyone else's description can match my situation.

Is there anything I can and should do? Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

 

Hide full thread outline!
    ...
RE: Craigslist - someone in NJ has replicated my ebay ad, posted on May 5, 2012 at 20:48:26
The Dill
Audiophile

Posts: 245
Location: Portland, Oregon
Joined: July 1, 2004
Contributor
  Since:
December 0, 0000
Yes, get some friends together and flag the ad. If it pops back up, keep flagging it.

 

The fake ad is CL 2994977868, posted on May 5, 2012 at 20:58:20
Gofast
Audiophile

Posts: 486
Location: New York Metro
Joined: March 1, 2006
Would any readers here mind flagging this as recommended by The Dill.

Just for proof, my real ad is ebay 110821138374 and also on Asylum Trader.

Thanks in advance.

 

RE: The fake ad is CL 2994977868, posted on May 6, 2012 at 06:08:25
The Dill
Audiophile

Posts: 245
Location: Portland, Oregon
Joined: July 1, 2004
Contributor
  Since:
December 0, 0000
It requires several flags to remove, only one flag per email address is counted. See the link.

 

RE: The fake ad is CL 2994977868, posted on May 6, 2012 at 09:46:01
Coner
Industry Professional

Posts: 1348
Location: USA
Joined: November 17, 2001
Strange it's in COMPUTERS catagory. And the flagging does not
go by email address, you don't need to log-in to flag, so how
would CL know the email address?.

I've heard that they go by the IP address, and each computer
has a different one, so you can use several computers to flag
several times.

 

Here's his email reply, posted on May 6, 2012 at 16:55:50
Tre'
Industry Professional

Posts: 7941
Location: So. Cal.
Joined: February 9, 2002
"Hello

The product is available and it is in perfect condition working great.First of all I can't make this deal face to face because I am in United Kingdom with my job. I want to continue this transaction through a 3rd part Yodel Delivery...I am in England and I have talked with the people from Yodel already.The item is at them ready for delivery and I paid for the taxes and fees already.I worked with them in the past and everything was fine..Please let me know if you want more info about the delivery process.

Thank you "

Mike Diamis mikediamisjei1@gmail.com


.
Have Fun and Enjoy the Music
"Still Working the Problem"

 

By clicking on the "Avoid Scams" link @ the top of the ad..., posted on May 6, 2012 at 20:43:19
DeKay
Audiophile

Posts: 2968
Location: So. CA
Joined: November 22, 2002
you can file a complaint (federal, I think, in this case).

 

RE: Craigslist - someone in NJ has replicated my ebay ad, posted on May 7, 2012 at 11:54:16
shutterbob
Audiophile

Posts: 452
Location: Central Missouri
Joined: August 23, 2008
You can also cppy his listing title and post a warning ad under "RE:....", warning people of teh scam, and that is what it is.

I did this when a guy listed a Praktica camera as made by Leica.

I have seen that "I am in London scam" several times. most recently for some Accuphase gear listed all over the midwest.

 

When I ask for more pictures...., posted on May 8, 2012 at 08:54:30
Tre'
Industry Professional

Posts: 7941
Location: So. Cal.
Joined: February 9, 2002
he emailed every one of your ebay pictures.

Tre'
Have Fun and Enjoy the Music
"Still Working the Problem"

 

you have them listed both here and on ebay?, posted on May 10, 2012 at 11:52:04
badman
Reviewer

Posts: 8704
Location: Tustin, CA (Orange County)
Joined: March 10, 2001
Doesn't that violate the terms of ebay use?



Bass is supposed to sound big. 6.5" is not a woofer size.


 

RE: you have them listed both here and on ebay?, posted on May 10, 2012 at 11:58:57
Gofast
Audiophile

Posts: 486
Location: New York Metro
Joined: March 1, 2006
No idea. However, I very much doubt it, although I have not read ebay's terms in years. Plenty of real storefronts also selling on ebay, obviously with multiple avenues of sale.

 

Thank you. Looks like it got flagged for removal., posted on May 10, 2012 at 12:01:14
Gofast
Audiophile

Posts: 486
Location: New York Metro
Joined: March 1, 2006
Appreciate everyone's input and help. Samir.

 

RE: Craigslist - someone in NJ has replicated my ebay ad, posted on March 13, 2013 at 07:44:19
Roypercy
Audiophile

Posts: 270
Location: New York
Joined: December 18, 2003
There have been a number of these cropping up on NY CL for the past few months, always as for vintage speakers, always at very reasonable, even low, prices. Often it's evident that part of the text of the ad has been dropped, probably by somebody reposting quickly. I think some of them are reposts of other people's CL ads from across the country. When I responded to one of the ads early on, I got a response that was basically, "this item is sold but log on to the following website" (whatever it was) "and see all my other items for sale". Needless to say, I didn't.

I don't know why some spammer decided that fake vintage speaker ads were the best way to reach his target audience, but there you have it.

 

Page processed in 0.017 seconds.