Home Planar Speaker Asylum

Welcome! Need support, you got it. Or share your ideas and experiences.

RE: The system that made me love Magnepan speakers

Well, I guess I should put my story up too.

As a kid, my composer uncle had Alison square speakers shooting at the walls that always made music seem to occupy a real space. I wanted to have that.

At 15 my music teacher gave me my first lesson at his place since he didn't manage to book a practice room in time. He had Quads with a KEF oval sub driven by a Mac 40 watter with a TD125 TT and a DBX expander used for larger pieces. It was amazing for me and made my folk's system sound broken. The detail was astounding and the natural tone was phenomenal. Imaging was very convincing too. Dynamics - despite the sub were MIA beyond a certain level. I asked him to give me more lessons at his place so I can hear more music on his setup. Which we did occasionally. On his advice I got a subscription to HiFi Choice and later swapped to What HiFi and picked up a sub for Stereo Review, then for Audio

I already had a clear idea that I wanted planars eventually. But was intrigued by articles about Maggies. At 18 I went to an audio show and heard 3 setups that really struck me. One was based on a Canton tower speaker then sporting the newfangled titanium tweeter which I liked for its incredibly tight bass. Then after hours there was a CLS driven by a Teac R2R with Joni Mitchell playing, powered by a class A Krell. It was as if she were right there on the show's big hall's floor encased in the intimate studio acoustic which was surreal considering the ballroom sized space. Last was an Altec VOT driven by a tube amp. Dynamics drive and impact and a sense of "touch" .to quote Art Dudley.